Clear the Stage 

Clear the Stage is the tenth song and title track of Jimmy Needham’s 2012 studio album, the song originally done by Ross King in 2005. 
The first time I heard this song, I think a part of me was smashed to bits. Honestly, you cannot listen to this song and stay the same. Ever. And I believe Jimmy’s soulful vocals have a role to play in making it an unforgettable listening experience. 

A stage is something where we place an object so that it can be viewed by as many people as possible. Anything and everything is placed on these stages; reputation, people, fame, recognition, even ourselves. We focus so much attention on these things that we forget who really deserves all the attention. We desire to give things in our lives center stage, and thats where we fail. Glorifying the gift, not the Giver. 

When I listened to this song for the first time, I was afraid of ever listening to it again, because the words cut deep into the soul, asking questions you never wanted to ask yourself.

What is this I can’t stop thinking of, is it an idol in my life? 

Does this really deserve to take the focus in my life?

Matthew 6:33 “But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you. (NKJV) 

When seeking God, glorifying God in everything we do becomes the main thing in our lives, all the rest will fall into place. The moment we come to the realization that all earthly things will fade away, but His glory will remain, our true desire will be to give all our attention to Him, all our worship to Him. Instead of taking the spotlight, shine it on the One who really deserves it. 

I’ll think of it as a musician would. Set the stage for the performance. Soundcheck, everything is in perfect working order. Lighting, superb. All thats left is me to stand and seize the moment. But I stand aside, and let God be at the centre of it. With each lyric sung, His voice is heard. With each movement made, He is seen. All I do is stand in the background. 

How I desire to clear the stage in my life, remove things I feel I give too much attention, and make space for Him who deserves it. That’s also my prayer for you, dear reader, that as you listen to the song, God may speak to you. 

Click here to watch the YouTube video. Blessings. 

Clear the Stage Lyrics 

Clear the stage and set the sound and lights ablaze 

If that’s the measure you must take to crush the idols 

Jerk the pews & all the decorations, too 

Until the congregations few, then have revival 

Tell your friends that this is where the party ends 

 Until you’re broken for your sins, you can’t be social 

Then seek the Lord & wait for what He has in store 

 And know that great is your reward so just be hopeful 

Chorus: 

‘Cause you can sing all you want to 

Yes, you can sing all you want to 

You can sing all you want to 

And still get it wrong; 

 Worship is more than a song 

Take a break from all the plans that you have made 

 And sit at home alone and wait for God to whisper 

Beg Him please to open up His mouth and speak 

 And pray for real upon your knees until they blister 

Shine the light on every corner of your life 

 Until the pride and lust and lies are in the open 

Then read the Word and put to test the things you’ve heard 

 Until your heart and soul are stirred and rocked and broken 

Chorus



We must not worship something that’s not even worth it 

Clear the stage, make some space for the One who deserves it 

Anything I put before my God is an idol 

Anything I want with all my heart is an idol 

Anything I can’t stop thinking of is an idol 

 Anything I give all my love is an idol  

One Comment Add yours

  1. Naomi Cheriro says:

    Came across this blog leo as I went through my TL. Well;
    I broke down the first time I listened to this song and it still brings me to a point of brokenness. Lyrics well articulated to pass across a message that couldn’t be conveyed in a more appropriate way.
    Glad to find someone with similar sentiments.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

