Hope Is Frail, But Hard to Kill.

Hello there!!  😀

Trusting you have been doing alright in the Lord. Happy Madaraka Day, Kenya! It’s not often to get a holiday in the middle of the week, so to me, it’s a good week thats just getting better 😄

I feel stirred to share about despair and hope, which are some things we all face one day or another in our lives.

Simple Definition of despair
: to no longer have any hope or belief that a situation will improve or change
Source: Merriam-Webster’s Learner’s Dictionary

The lack/absence of hope is despair. It’s quite hard to lose hope; a song I love says that ‘hope is frail, but it’s hard to kill’. That rings true. We can be tossed about, have challenges thrown at us and just have everything turn to sand at the least opportune moment, but still look forward to things working out; seeing a light at the end of the tunnel; a ray of sunshine after a long, dark night.

What if hope dies? What if some situations seem so unfixable (oh dear, grammar, but you get the point 😂) that we throw our hands in the air and say, “I give up.”? What happens when we get to such a point where we feel hard pressed, perplexed and persecuted by thoughts, circumstances and past things we have done?

A few days back, honestly, I had begun to lose hope in a lot of things. I had begun to ask myself,  “What’s here to look forward to?” I had even began to ask questions that, in retrospect, I could have not said on my own.

“Why is following Jesus so hard? Why can’t it be a bit easier on me? Does God really love me? Yes, He does, but why does He seem to be absent at times of need? What if I had not been redeemed from sin’s clutches?”

I soon realised this wasn’t my voice speaking. Never could I have thought such on my own. My despair was, in fact, baseless. Jesus never said following Him would be easy, and more than anything, God loves me to a point He sent His Son to die in my place. He’s always there when I need Him, all I have to do is reach out and take His hand, call His name. Had I not been set free from sin, which in essence gave me more despair, I would be far gone, worthy of all condemnation and the full price of death.

Paradoxically, despair gave me hope again. In truth, God restored my hope in Him. I talked to friends over this issue, of the past seeming to call me back into a life of sin, and they all conclusively said,  “The enemy comes only to kill, steal and destroy. He came to give us not only life, but life in abundance.” Aha! So it was the enemy, Satan. Only he can make this worldly living seem so enticing that some Christians decide to walk a delicate tightrope; delight the senses any way I want to, as long as I go to church, read my Bible and pay my tithe.

image

The hope that covers all despair is the life in abundance; eternal life. My previous post, The More I Seek You, sought out to understand what eternal life really is. Truly, it’s knowing Jesus and God who sent Him. Better yet, it begins the moment we believe in Him in faith, not when we die. Once I attain knowledge of Him, I know what He will ask of me, and I will do it in faith.

Hope is frail, but it’s hard to kill. The world will seem to have more joy and happiness, riches aplenty, but what good is all that if I gain what it offers and lose my soul? I will trust in God, put my hope in His promises that are sure, and stand my ground.

When Satan tempts me to despair,
And tells me of the guilt within;
Upward I look, and see Him there,
Who made an end to all my sin.

Before The Throne of God Above

May our eyes be ever on Jesus, the author and perfector of our faith, for by His sacrifice, we have a hope of eternal life, which, to me, is the greatest hope one can ever have.

I’ll finish with a message from my friend Chino…
So be encouraged and now pursue Him….who proclaims us as victors a royal priest hood a holy nation and His prize possession….
The past can be enticing but what God has prepared for you ahead…..😱😱😱😱😱😱😱
Even the devil knows he will not be able to contain you…

Blessed day :):)

Leave a Reply

