Happy Mother’s Day

Mother’s Day is a celebration honoring the mother of the family, as well as motherhood, maternal bonds, and the influence of mothers in society. It is celebrated on various days in many parts of the world, most commonly in the months of March or May.

Source, Wikipedia (https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mother%27s_Day)

Hey there, thanks for passing by on Mother’s Day!! This year, it falls on 8th May, so lets join hands to celebrate our mothers and those who have been mothers to us.

Looking at it in this perspective, where would the world be without mothers? Someone to lean on and cry when things are tough, someone who will celebrate your achievements, no matter how small, and definitely make your life a whole lot more easier by adding an essential ingredient to our lives; LOVE.

This post goes out to my mother, Angela Omobe. I guess if I begin expressing my gratitude, I will be sponsored to write a novel about it. One of my earliest memories involves her. When I was young, I often fell ill. Thankfully, it helped strengthen my immune system; these days I very rarely get ill, just a cold here and there, nothing quite serious. (I can’t remember the last time I had malaria 😅. )

I became sick in the middle of the night. Stomachache and blowing chunks of that nights supper. Guess what? She got up, came to my room with a bucket for throwing up into, and spent that night by my side. When I’d start retching, she’d immediately bring the bucket closer, then soothe my back with her hand as I pitifully threw up. I can’t recall what triggered that violent reaction, but I do recall one thing that stood out.

Her love.

She stayed by me all night, occasionally dozing off (she was beat), and would rush to help in case anything arose. As I type this, I am having that funny feeling of wanting to cry but you can’t cause you’re happy, but then you want to bawl like a kid… Maybe that’s what gratitude feels like. 😄😄

So, Mom, I celebrate you this Mother’s Day. To quote what I once read somewhere, “If I had another mom, I’d run away from her just to find you, cause you’re the perfect mother for me.” Yeah, you’re not exactly perfect (we are all human, we make mistakes), but for me, you are. :):). I thank you for being you, for it only takes someone special to be a mom. For leading me to Christ (both you and Dad) from a young age, I don’t know how I can ever be grateful. He shows me values and attributes in both of you that are a mirror reflection of Him. I thank God each day for you, and I pray He shall use you to touch other people’s lives as you have mine.

Our family is a bit… Umm… Unique. (Weird, different, out of the ordinary… Whatever!)  Today also happens to be my Dad’s birthday. Then tomorrow is Mom’s birthday. (Awkward! :D)

Happy Birthday Dad!! Have a blast today. You’re not only getting older, you are getting better, each and every day you still continue to inspire me to pursue goodness, morality and seek God with all my being. I raise a glass to you, Dad.

To finish up, a quote I came across that asks a question all children around the world have always wanted to know…

If evolution really works, how come mothers only have two hands?
— MILTON BERLE

And a verse…

image

Hold your parents with high esteem, honour and respect, for this is the first commandment with a promise. The promise is outlined in Ephesians 6:3: “that it may go well with you and that you may live long in the land.” (ESV).

All will go well with us (favour with God and men) and long life (I leave that to you.)

Call your mother, or someone who has been a mother to you. You may feel like there isn’t much to say, so here’s a template…

Thank you, Mom. I love you.

If you feel you are in a strained relationship with your mother, or even within the family, let me pray… Lord, I ask that You will move in the family that feels that love is lacking, for You are love in essence. May Your Spirit touch the hearts of those who feel there is no love between them, and restore to them that which is absent or stolen by the enemy. Bring them to a greater knowledge of You and a deeper understanding of Your grace and mercy. I pray through Your Son, Jesus Christ, amen.

Happy Mother’s Day. Be blessed.

Leave a Reply

