The Real Valentine

February 14th. Saint Valentines Day.

Chocolates, flowers and gifts are shared between people on this day, as symbols of undying love and one that will endure all fires, floods and fights. Promises are made, vows renewed and to many, love is reborn.

I spent most part of today relaxing and reminding myself of the significance of this day to me. No, let me clear it out early, I’m not in a relationship yet 😁😁😁and most certainly will not be in a while, until I make my relationship with God solid, I’m sure I will be able to have a fulfilling one with my future wife (big plans, I know 😅😅).

As the world commemorates the feeling we call love, which I tend to think of as lust in many cases, I got to thinking about love. In bold,  maybe in caps for effect 😄

LOVE

The kind of love where one would give up their life for you, and mean it. The kind of love that would take up the wrongs you’ve done and say, not him/her, punish me instead. The kind of love that promises to endure through all, and actually endures.

The love of Jesus Christ. So far the only love I’ve come across, experienced to confidently say is real and self-sacrificing.

Below are some verses my dear friend and brother Henton sent to me yesterday evening, and I received it this morning. Verses from the New Testament that emphasise on God’s and Jesus’s love for us. Thanks Henton/Trevy for the blessing you’ve been and are being.

*    *    *    *

John 3:16 KJV
For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.

John 13:34 KJV
A new commandment I give unto you, That ye love one another; as I have loved you, that ye also love one another.

John 15:12-13 KJV
This is my commandment, That ye love one another, as I have loved you. [13] Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.

Romans 5:8 KJV
But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.

Galatians 2:20 KJV
I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.

Ephesians 2:4-7 KJV
But God, who is rich in mercy, for his great love wherewith he loved us, [5] Even when we were dead in sins, hath quickened us together with Christ, (by grace ye are saved;) [6] And hath raised us up together, and made us sit together in heavenly places in Christ Jesus: [7] That in the ages to come he might shew the exceeding riches of his grace in his kindness toward us through Christ Jesus.

Ephesians 5:2 KJV
And walk in love, as Christ also hath loved us, and hath given himself for us an offering and a sacrifice to God for a sweetsmelling savour.

Hebrews 13:1 KJV
Let brotherly love continue.

1 John 4:9 KJV
In this was manifested the love of God toward us, because that God sent his only begotten Son into the world, that we might live through him.

1 John 4:10-11 KJV
Herein is love, not that we loved God, but that he loved us, and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins. [11] Beloved, if God so loved us, we ought also to love one another.

Revelation 1:5 KJV
And from Jesus Christ, who is the faithful witness, and the first begotten of the dead, and the prince of the kings of the earth. Unto him that loved us, and washed us from our sins in his own blood,

Jesus is the perfect example of love!

The world promotes lust as love, but the Bible; Christ was candid about love. That we should love each other just as Christ loves us; sacrificial love.

Laying up our lives for others. Giving up our comforts, pleasures for the sake of others… true discipleship is love.

*    *    *    *
This verse always stands out for me…

image

In modern English, commendeth means show, or display. While I was yet a sinner, lost in the deep dark pit of, well, sin 😄, He died for me. Seeing that He didn’t want me to be condemned to an eternal death, but rather live eternally with Him, He gave up so much that He had: heavenly glory, a throne of honour, even forsaking a life of fame here on earth, just so I could be saved from the wrath of God reserved for me. By bearing it, I’m justified, and urged to follow His example of sacrificial love to others. To rid me of myself and share the love He has given me with and to others.

Maybe you might be reading this, crying from a broken relationship, hurt from one you’re currently in because of constant fighting or just hopeless that real love doesn’t exist, just like I did once.

There is hope for you, in Him who loved you before He called the stars ✨ into being, before He moulded the earth and formed all the creatures. He loves you, so much that even comprehending it is mind boggling.

Wherever you are, just say, Lord, I thank you for loving me, a wreck, a sinner, so much that You came and died for me, took my place so that I could fully enjoy life in You and in who You want me to be. May I live a lofe worthy of this sacrifice, that others may experience the love You have given me and that they will come to You through it.

If you haven’t accepted Him as your Saviour, you may add Come into my life, that it may be led by Your love, to show others who You are to me. Forgive me for all the mistakes I’ve done, and cleanse me from all my sin that I may be able to fully experience You in my life.

Have a great Valentines Day. Remember to call all your family members, friends and anyone else to just say, I love you for who you are to me and who you’ve been in my life.

Always remember what the real Valentine is. Be blessed ✌

One thought on “The Real Valentine

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

