You Raise Me Up

Well, my first post of the year, and I am glad I have made the step in writing it, after a long period of thinking and praying on what to do.

All in all, it’s a new year. New things, new resolutions (which we might break or not commit to 😂😂), new ways of thinking and living. Time to let go of the past and its shackles, and embrace each new day God has freely granted to us.

My year began very sadly; I lost my grandmother on the second day of 2016. There was no warning, no indication… She just fell into a faint, and was gone by the time she was brought to hospital.

For a while, I felt stuck in a rut. A whole week passed me by and I barely realized it. The shock was numbing, and I still try to grapple with the fact that she is gone. So many questions demanding instant answers plagued me and still do to this day, answers I tell myself to wait for, to hope in God to answer them in His right time.

Psalm 42:5 (NKJV)
Why are you cast down, O my soul?
And why are you disquieted within me?
Hope in God, for I shall yet praise Him
For the help of His countenance.

I’m glad I am learning, with each passing day, to hope in God, to trust in Him for strength I will need to go through life without my grandmother. Knowing full well that she died in the Lord, how blessed she is to be resting in His arms, fully basking in His perfect love and peace.

The hope I have is that I too will be with her in God’s arms, to be with Him forever and… Oh my, what a grand time that will be😄

God will give me the strength this year to be more than I can ever be, more than I can expect to be, if only I rest in His promise of an eternal life, and hope in this promise will lead me through.

To Shosh, I will always love you, and though you are gone physically, in my heart you are always with me and the rest of us. Rest in God’s peace.

image
Forever in my heart, dear grandmother...

* * * *

When I am down and, oh, my soul, so weary;
When troubles come and my heart burdened be;
Then I am still and wait here in the silence,
Until you come and sit awhile with me.

You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains;
You raise me up to walk on stormy seas;
I am strong when I am on your shoulders;
You raise me up to more than I can be.

You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains;
You raise me up to walk on stormy seas;
I am strong when I am on your shoulders;
You raise me up to more than I can be.

(Josh Groban, You Raise Me Up)

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

