Better than Death by Chocolate.

No, this post is not about a bakery I’m opening.

It also isn’t about someone’s bakery I’m advertising.

Neither is it a spoiler for a new Spanish or Mexican soap opera about to be aired. Sorry to break your hearts and expectations.

Im talking about some sweet dessert. No, not Death by Chocolate. Something way better than that. Now, I can hear your thoughts. What can it be?  Better than the best cake ever?  Ooh, a strawberry muffin, or.. or a nice warm pumpkin pie. Oh, please tell me what it is.

Ok then, I will. 

Gossip.

Didn’t see that coming, now, did you? 😂😂😂😂

Why,  it is said to be a ‘tasty trifle’  that goes ‘down to the inmost body’ (Proverbs 18:8, 26:22, NKJV). How true does that get?

image

Lets look at it in the King James Version (the real English Bible, directly translated from the original tongues 😂😂😂)

The words of a talebearer are as wounds, and they go down into the innermost parts of the belly (Proverbs 18:8, KJV).

Though the words spoken by a gossiper, talebearer, may seem soft and simple, gracious and tender, they can cause wounds deeply injurious. They are like inviting desserts (Death by Chocolate 😍) that are covered with poison that causes a terrible ruin to your tender belly. Only in this case, it isn’t your belly hurting.

Its the soul of the person being talked about which is almost killed. (Remember in epic movies, where the evil villain is stabbed in the belly as a sure means of death?)

At this point, I introduce a story submitted by Ann (hey there! 👋) submitted in our class WhatsApp group.

*     *     *

Testing For Gossip

In ancient Greece, Socrates was reputed to hold knowledge in high esteem. One day an acquaintance met the great philosopher and said, “Do you know what I just heard about your friend?”

“Hold on a minute,” Socrates replied. “Before telling me anything I’d like you to pass a little test. It’s called the Triple Filter Test.”

“Triple Filter Test?”

“That’s right,” Socrates continued. “Before you talk to me about my friend, it might be a good idea to take a moment and filter what you’re going to say. That’s why I call it the triple filter test. The first filter is Truth. Are you absolutely sure that what you’re about to tell me is true?”

“No,” the man said. “Actually I just heard about it and …”

“Alright,” said Socrates. “So you don’t really know if it’s true or not. Now let us try the second filter; the filter of Goodness. Is what you’re about to tell me about my friend something good?”

“No; on the contrary.”

“So,” Socrates continued, “You want to tell me something bad about him, but you’re not certain it’s true. You may still pass the test though, because there is one filter left; the filter of Usefulness. Is what you want to tell me about my friend going to be useful to me?”

“No, not really!”

“Well,” concluded Socrates, “If what you want to tell me is neither true nor good nor even useful, why tell it to me at all?”

GOSSIP DIES WHEN IT HITS A WISE PERSON’S EARS !

GOD BLESS US ALL WITH THE SPIRIT OF WISDOM ! I liked this👍👍👍👍

*     *     *

Yes, I loved that article.

Is it true? Is it good?  Is it useful?

Gossip had this to say about himself. I think we had better pay attention to what he spoke…

My name is Gossip. I have no respect for justice.

I maim without killing. I break hearts and ruin lives.

I am cunning and malicious and gather strength with age.

The more I am quoted, the more I am believed.

My victims are helpless. They cannot protect themselves against me because I have no name and no face.

To track me down is impossible. The harder you try, the more elusive I become.

I am nobody’s friend.

Once I tarnish a reputation, it is never the same.

I topple governments and wreck marriages.

I ruin careers and cause sleepless nights, heartaches and indigestion.

I make innocent people cry in their pillows.

Even my name hisses (hahaha this killed me 😂😂😂) .

I am called Gossip. I make headlines and headaches.

Before you repeat a story, ask yourself:
Is it true? Is it harmless? Is it necessary?
If it isn’t, don’t repeat it.

It is my prayer that we, as Christians, shall not take part in enjoying this dessert called Gossip. Yes, I agree, it is delicious 😋 and a great way to pass the time. But why do it at the expense of hurting someone’s feelings and ruining a reputation?

It causes grief and hurt to whoever is being spoken about, which is akin to murder (killing them inside). And I am positive none of us wants to stand accused on the charge of killing someone’s spirit. I included 🙋

Be blessed.

Looking forward to Christmas 🎄

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

